Skip to content

National Parks of Hawai‘i Earn 2014 Legacy Award from the Hawai‘i Tourism Authority

September 3, 2014

Congratulations to all eight Hawai‘i national parks! The news release and image below are courtesy of the Hawai‘i Tourism Authority. 


HTA Legacy Award

Hawai‘i NPS Superintendents accept the HTA Legacy Award. Photo courtesy of HTA.

The Hawai‘i Tourism Authority (HTA), the state’s tourism agency, recognized the National Park Service (NPS) at its 2014 Tourism Legacy Awards Luncheon during the 2014 Hawai‘i Tourism Conference August 28 at the Hawai‘ Convention Center.

“The National Park Service overseas eight parks and sites throughout the Hawaiian Islands, which welcomed nearly 5-million visitors and generated $312-million in economic benefits to the state last year,” said Mike McCartney, president and CEO of the HTA. “They not only help to preserve the natural beauty of the destination, but help to perpetuate and promote the people, place and culture that make Hawaii a unique and special place to live and visit. Congratulations and mahalo to this year’s award recipients.”

The HTA’s 2014 Tourism Legacy Awards honorees are:

Pu‘ukoholā Heiau National Historic Site (Hawai‘i Island)
Located north of the Kohala Coast, this majestic stone temple is one of the largest restored heiau (sacred temple) in the state. The heiau dedicated to the war god Kukailimoku, was constructed between 1790 and 1791 under the leadership of Kamehameha the Great to help in his efforts to unite the Hawaiian Islands.

Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park (Hawai‘i Island)
Located in Hōnaunau Bay in southern Kona, this 180-acre historic site was once home of royal grounds and a place of refuge for those who violated the kapu system. The sacred site’s spirit of peace and forgiveness still resonates today and offers visitors an opportunity to immerse themselves in Hawaiian culture.

Kaloko-Honokōhau National Historical Park (Hawai‘i Island)
This coastal park offers visitors an opportunity to discover how early Hawaiians survived the rugged and arid Kona landscape. Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park encompasses ahupuaa (traditional sea to mountain divisions), heiau and kii pohaku (petroglyphs). It also showcases the ingenuity of ancient Hawaiian fishpond architecture.

Ala Kahakai National Historic Trail (Hawai‘i Island)
Established in 2000 for the preservation, protection and interpretation of traditional Native Hawaiian culture and natural resources, Ala Kahakai National Historic Trail is a 175-mile network of culturally and historically significant trails. It traverses through hundreds of ancient Hawaiian settlement sites and more than 200 ahupua’a (traditional sea to mountain divisions).

Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park (Hawai‘i Island)
Home to two of the world’s most active volcanoes, Kīlauea and Maunaloa, Hawai‘i Volcanoes National Park is well-known for its biologic landscapes. The NPS helps to protect and restore the park’s wide diversity of ecosystems and serves as a refuge for many Native Hawaiian species.

Haleakalā National Park
From lush rainforests to stark volcanic landscape, Haleakala National Park offers a rare and sacred scenery that vibrates with stories of ancient and modern Hawaiian culture, preserving the bond between the land and its people. It is home to various endangered species, many of which are found nowhere else.

Kalaupapa National Historic Park (Moloka‘i)
Located on the north shore of Molokai, the Kalaupapa peninsula was once the home of those with Hansen’s disease, who were forced to live in isolation. Today, Kalaupapa National Historic Park now serves as a place for education and contemplation, rich in history, archaeological resources and breathtaking landscape.

World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument (O‘ahu)
Pearl Harbor is the only naval base in the U.S. designated as a National Historic Landmark which preserves and interprets the stories of historical events from the Pacific War. It includes four museums and monuments including the U.S.S. Arizona Memorial, the Battleship Missouri Memorial, The U.S.S. Bowfin Submarine Museum and the Pacific Aviation Museum

Evolving from the HTA’s “Keep it Hawai‘i” program, the Tourism Legacy Awards was established to honor individuals, organizations and businesses that perpetuate Hawaiian culture and traditions. Honorees have worked diligently to nurture the host culture creating respectful and authentic visitor experiences while securing bonds between the visitor industry and the Hawaiian community.
Established in 1998, the Hawaii Tourism Authority, the state’s tourism agency, is responsible for strategically managing tourism to optimize benefits for Hawai‘i that integrate the interest of visitors, the community and visitor industry. Tourism is our state’s leading economic driver and largest employer and the HTA continually works to ensure its sustainability well into the future. For more information on the HTA, please visit, find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter(@HawaiiHTA).


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Gravatar Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237,282 other followers

Build a website with
%d bloggers like this: